pin 117: vegetarian buffalo cauliflower ‘chicken’

This is one of those pins that makes your mouth water just looking at it! I actually first saw this recipe when BF’s mother sent it to me. She makes this amazing buffalo chicken wing dip that has seriously had a recurring role in my dreams since becoming a vegetarian.

Unfortunately, my execution on this one… needs a liiittle work. But after reading the comments on this recipe, I’m not the only one who had problems! On the bright side though, it still tastes great 🙂 The salty and spicy sauce and seasoning mixes well with the sweetness of the cauliflower. The only problem is that the end result is a little mushy so it’s more like buffalo casserole than

For starters, wash and cut the cauliflower up into bite sized pieces.

Next, mix your spices, flour and buttermilk. I needed to use way more buttermilk than it called for, but start with the recommended amount and add more if it is too thick.

Here is where I would have changed things {and will next time I make it}: instead of tossing all the cauliflower in the batter and coating it thickly, I would dip the cauliflower pieces in and place them in the oiled baking pan. I think by doing this, the cauliflower would stick together less and the batter would become crisp.

Once it’s in the pan, pop it in the oven at 450 degrees for 15-18 minutes. I did 15 minutes and the batter just seemed to be browning up when I took it out. Other commenters said theirs burned, so I kept a close eye on it.

Once you take it out, mix the melted butter and hot sauce like Frank’s Red Hot {I put that $%^t on everything}, unless you buy the buffalo wing sauce. That does not need excess butter. Then pour the mixture over the cauliflower, mixing it together. The batter will probably stick and that’s ok. Pop it back in the oven for about 5-8 minutes or so, but then I kept popping it in for longer and longer, to try to get it to be crispier. Obviously, it wouldn’t crisp up because there’s too much batter.

In the end, no matter how it looks, it still tastes really good. The batter was even tangy and tasty! I’ll have to try it again and see if I can make it crispier.

Ease (1-10): 4 Very simple, though it needs a little work!
Cost: $10 Approximately, because basically everything is cheap but you probably have most of the ingredients already.

Leave a Reply

